This is the "Home" page of the "IB Resources @SME" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IB Resources @SME  

Resources available for IB students
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://smeast.smsd.libguides.com/IB Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

List of East Databases by IB Groups

 

International Books in the SME Library

Cover Art
The Poisonwood Bible - Barbara Kingsolver
Call Number: F Kin
ISBN: 0060175400
Publication Date: 1998-10-07

Cover Art
Fiela's Child - Dalene Matthee
Call Number: F Mat
ISBN: 0226510832
Publication Date: 1992-09-01

Cover Art
Fathers and Sons - Ivan Turgenev; Elizabeth Cheresh Allen (Revised by); Constance Garnett (Translator); Ann Pasternak Slater (Introduction by)
Call Number: F Tur
ISBN: 0375758399
Publication Date: 2001-11-13

Cover Art
Hamlet - William Shakespeare; Sylvan Barnet (Editor, Introduction by)
Call Number: 822.33 Ham
ISBN: 9780451526922
Publication Date: 1998-06-01

Cover Art
Chronicle of a Death Foretold - Gabriel García Márquez; Gregory Rabassa (Translator)
Call Number: F Gar
ISBN: 140003471X
Publication Date: 2003-10-07

Cover Art
Caramelo - Sandra Cisneros
Call Number: F Cis
ISBN: 0679435549
Lala Reyes' grandmother is descended from a family of renowned shawl makers. The novel opens with the Reyes' annual car trip from Chicago to Mexico City. It is here that Lala hears her family's stories that have ricocheted from one generation to the next.

Cover Art
In the Time of Butterflies - Julia Alvarez
Call Number: F Alv
ISBN: 9781565129764
The story of the Mirabal sisters who opposed Gen. Raphael Leonidas Trujuillo's dictatorship in the Dominican Republic in the 1960ss

Cover Art
The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down - Anne Fadiman
Call Number: F Cis
ISBN: 0679734775
The story of Esperanza Cordero, a young girl growing up in the Hispanic quarter of Chicago. For Esperanza, Mango Street is a desolate landscape of concrete and run-down tenements where she discovers the hard realities of life.

Cover Art
Bless Me, Ultima - Rudulfo Anaya
Call Number: F Ana
ISBN: 0446600253
Story of a curandera who comes to stay with a 6-year-old-boy in New Mexico.

Gale ebooks

Check out the reference books available from anywhere!  Password: Lancers

Subscription Databases

All of these are subscription databases.  See Mrs. Knop for the passwords.

  • Questia School
    This should be your first "go to" database.
  • ABC-CLIO
    An awesome database for social studies, english or science classes. ABC-CLIO is an award-winning publisher of reference, contemporary thought, and professional development content, created to help students, educators, librarians, and general readers of all ages wrestle with complex challenges.
  • State Library of Kansas
    Click on Explore our Resources, then try
    MasterFile Premier
    Academic Search Premier
    Newspaper Source plus
  • Encyclopedia Britannica
  • Johnson County Library
    You MUST have a library card to access their databases.
    Click on Research for their list of databases
 

TED Talk: Path to Ending Ethnic Conflict

 

IB and the School Library Book

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kathi Knop

Google Stuff

 

Using Google Scholar

 

Wikipedia

www.wikipedia.org

Wiki Mind Map and Wiki Summarizer both do a good job of helping visitors narrow searches from a broad topic to a narrow topic.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip